Recover Lenovo One Key Rescue after Resizing Partitions


If you have use EaseUs Partition Master to resize your Windows 8 partitions, you might have problem to create Windows recover drive, fail to backup or recover to factory with pre-installed recovery tool.

I just bought a Lenovo C440. It comes with Windows 8 and OneKey Recovery. My experience is based on the combination.

Because the default partition size is too small for my C drive, I use EaseUs Partition Master to re-size. Then I cannot launch to OneKey Recovery for backup or recovery. I also fail to create a USB recovery drive using [Recovery] in [Control Panel].

It took me several days to figure out what’s going wrong. In short, it’s all related to the partition type which EaseUs Partition Master cannot handle properly. I will show you how to solve these problems.

The Factory Partition List

Launch cmd.exe and run as administrator. In command prompt, type diskpart and run this program.

In interactive mode, use LIST DISK to view all disk numbers in your computer. Then select you disk by SELECT DISK=0 if this is your only drive.

Use LIST PARTITION to view partition information. Below is what it should be by factory default:

  Partition ###  Type              Size     Offset 
  -------------  ----------------  -------  ------- 
  Partition 1    Recovery          1000 MB  1024 KB 
  Partition 2    System             260 MB  1001 MB 
  Partition 3    OEM                500 MB  1261 MB 
  Partition 4    Reserved           128 MB  1761 MB 
  Partition 5    Primary            390 GB  1889 MB 
  Partition 6    Recovery           390 MB   392 GB 
  Partition 7    Primary             48 GB   392 GB 
  Partition 8    Recovery            24 GB   441 GB

More detail command document may be found in DiskPart Command-Line Options.

EaseUS Partition Master change Partition Type without Messages

After resizing by EaseUs Partition Master, you will lost all diag flag in partition which may be identified as diag in GParted. You need to manually change these value.

Here is a partition list of my disk after resize partition. Those marked by red color should be repaired.

  Partition ###  Type              Size     Offset 
  -------------  ----------------  -------  ------- 
  Partition 1    OEM               1000 MB  1024 KB 
  Partition 2    System             260 MB  1001 MB 
  Partition 3    Primary            500 MB  1261 MB 
  Partition 4    Reserved           128 MB  1761 MB 
  Partition 5    Primary            390 GB  1889 MB 
  Partition 6    Primary            390 MB   392 GB 
  Partition 7    Primary             48 GB   392 GB 
  Partition 8    OEM                 24 GB   441 GB

To help you compare my partition to yours, I also LIST VOLUME for your reference:

Volume ###  Ltr  Label        Fs     Type        Size     Status     Info
----------  ---  -----------  -----  ----------  -------  ---------  --------
Volume 0     E                       DVD-ROM         0 B  No Media
Volume 1     C   Windows8_OS  NTFS   Partition    390 GB  Healthy    Boot
Volume 2     D   Backup       NTFS   Partition     48 GB  Healthy
Volume 3         SYSTEM_DRV   FAT32  Partition    260 MB  Healthy    System
Volume 4                      NTFS   Partition    390 MB  Healthy    Hidden
Volume 5         PBR_DRV      NTFS   Partition     24 GB  Healthy    Hidden

Recover Partition ID

I use DETAIL PARTITION (select a partition before use this command) and compare partition ID. Here is a reference list of partition type and ID. You need to manually SELECT PARTITION then SET ID for the damaged partition type.

  • Recovery is DE94BBA4-06D1-4D40-A16A-BFD50179D6AC
  • System is C12A7328-F81F-11D2-BA4B-00A0C93EC93B
  • OEM is BFBFAFE7-A34F-448A-9A5B-6213EB736C22
  • Reserved is E3C9E316-0B5C-4DB8-817D-F92DF00215AE
  • Recovery is DE94BBA4-06D1-4D40-A16A-BFD50179D6AC
  • Primary is EBD0A0A2-B9E5-4433-87C0-68B6B72699C7

You cannot update the partition with type Reserved.

In my case, I need to change partition 1, 3, 6, and 8 respectively to type Recovery, OEM, Recovery, and Recovery. You may save below DiskPart commands as a text file and use /s to execute as whole.

For example, I save following commands as c440.txt and use diskpart /s c440.txt to batch execute.

SELECT DISK=0
SELECT PARTITION=1
SET ID=DE94BBA4-06D1-4D40-A16A-BFD50179D6AC
SELECT PARTITION=3
SET ID=BFBFAFE7-A34F-448A-9A5B-6213EB736C22
SELECT PARTITION=6
SET ID=DE94BBA4-06D1-4D40-A16A-BFD50179D6AC
SELECT PARTITION=8
SET ID=DE94BBA4-06D1-4D40-A16A-BFD50179D6AC
EXIT

Enable Windows Recovery Environment

Now, last step is to enable your Windows Recovery Environment, or WinRE for short, partition again by:

reagentc /disable
reagentc /enable

You may tell if your WinRE partition is back by reading the output message. In Windows RE status and Windows RE location, it will show you whether or not it found the partition and enable.

If you don’t have a WinRE Partition, you may check the Move Windows RE to Separate Partition section to create your own. I have successfully create a WinRE custom image but fail to use it with [Recovery] in [Control Panel].

After reboot, you shall be able to create a recovery drive and OneKey Recovery successfully.

If you still have problems to restore to factory default, please reference Reset your Lenovo Computer with Windows 8 for more help.

Reference

  1. EaseUs Partition Master
  2. Lenovo C440
  3. Microsoft: Create a USB recovery drive
  4. Introduction to Lenovo OneKey Recovery 8.0 for Notebooks
  5. Wiki: Partition type
  6. Wiki: Extended boot record
  7. GParted
  8. Microsoft TechNet Library: DiskPart Command-Line Options
  9. Microsoft: Diskpart Batch File
  10. TeraByte: Repairing the Windows Recovery Environment (WinRE)
  11. superuser: Windows 8 Advanced Recovery Options are missing
  12. sepago: Windows Recovery Environment (RE) Explained
  13. Reset your Lenovo Computer with Windows 8
232 thoughts on “Recover Lenovo One Key Rescue after Resizing Partitions

  1. Dude, Thanks So Much,
    I searched for an entire day before finding your information. This procedure worked just as you have listed. I used it on a Yoga2 Pro where I had updated the SSD from 256 to 512.

    Thanks Again!
    You are the MAN.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I do not use to comment on any page, but all this information you are sharing make me so happy. Now I’m able to backup and restore my system partition using lenovo onekey recovery tool on my Z40. I just have to set my first and last partition to Recovery type. Thanks Amigo.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. NOw , that I fpund this info extremely super Useful and simple … I’d like to thank you sir, cos now my Lenny Y50 has the One key recovery featured enabled and function properly.

    I was too rezised my C partition cos it was way too huge whilst my D part was ony 24GB , factory setting.
    but i never thought win 8.1 partition method was different than what i used to know, which was mbr. this is my 1st rig using win 8.1 . so ,, yea i was dumb not to read anythin 1st.

    but now alls well, so thank you again.

    Oh and to those happen do the same mistake on their Y50, pls follow above instruction , and set the partition1& 7 to recovery , and partition 3 to OEM . then voila , OKR , functions well.

    Best Regards,

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear FetZzo,

      Thank you for your feedback and share your success on Lenovo Y50! :)

      Partitions in Windows 8 and after indeed change a lot. I also write another post about using a hard drive which has Windows 8 installed as Mac boot drive in .

      Have a nice day!

      Best regards,

      Amigo

      Like

  4. Thanks for the Tutorial But I am confused as my laptops problem is not defined here but I hope to find a solution here.
    I have a Lenovo Ideapad U410 Laptop. windows 7 Home Premium 6GB Ram
    I keep getting a system message that says “the Lenovo D: is full” and each time I run the diskmgmt.msc command I get a pop up message to “initialize a disk before Logical disk manager can access it”. only Disk 0 appears with two option to choose from which is MBR and GPT. when I select MBR I get the followiing error msg “the semaphore timeout period has expired” when I launch the one key feature it restarts the computer back to the home screen.

    The Breakdown of my Disk Partition
    Disk0 1:00GB
    Unkown Unallocated
    1:00GB
    Not Initialized

    Disk1
    200MB NTFS -Healthy(System, Active)
    653.44Gb NTFSWindows 7_OS (C:)Healthy (Boot, Page File, Crash Dump, Primary Partition)
    Lenovo (D:) 25.47 GB NTFS Healthy (Primary Partition)
    19.34GB Healthy(OEM Partition)
    201MB Unallocated

    what do you think the problem is and how can I fix it.

    Thanks

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Bobby,

      Windows 7 is a different story. My only Windows 7 computer is ThinkPad T410i which use ThinkVantage Rescue and Recovery instead.

      For your first issue “the Lenovo D: is full”, it means your partition is full of data. You need to remove some stuff in partition D or resize the partition to make room for it. It might also related to some service continuously using your partition D to store files. For example, OKR save its backup image files in partition D. Sometimes it is because of something wrong in the file system in partition D which stop others to save anything. You need someone who is more familiar with Windows to check for you.

      “initialize a disk before Logical disk manager can access it” is not a good thing. Usually related to errors in partition tables. You might need to use disk tools like CHKDSK to fix.

      If I were you, I will backup everything and then try to restore to factory default.

      Wish it helps!

      Best regards,

      Amigo

      Like

  5. Hi, I want to ask. When I try to set ID to Recovery on My partition 6 (which is Primary) cmd says

    Virtual Disk Service error:
    The device is in use.

    The selected volume or partition in Use.
    To continue with the operation use the OVERRIDE parameter

    Is it safe to override? Thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Winadi,

      To perform any operation mentioned in this post, it would be a good idea to backup your data before anything.

      It is strange because I have never see this error message before. Also, our partition 6 might be different. Therefore, I cannot say it is safe to override.

      If you have backup everything, I think you should try the steps in Reset your Lenovo Computer with Windows 8 which is easier. After everything roll back to factory default, use GParted to resize your partition is a better idea.

      Wish it helps!

      Best regards,

      Amigo

      Like

  6. Good article you made here!
    Sitting with a Z710 laptop, trying to figure out what partitions I need to repair.
    My ID’s looks to me okay according the original info.ini file I got, but it differs somewhat from the above example. It doesn’t seem much helpful again.
    Perhaps someone here can help me, what I need to change?

    Diskpart details:
    http://pastebin.com/Eq88g94G

    info.ini file from my recovery partition:
    http://pastebin.com/C1Nm3gtm

    Screenshot from GParted:

    I cloned a 1TB SSHD to a 256 GB SDD using Macrium Reflect. Only the C drive is sized down. The system uses Win 8.1 and OKR8.

    My second question, what is the OKR version you have worked on Amigo?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Never mind. I found myself way to a problem. The partitions order of my SSD was of some reason done incorrectly. I’ve read that this is very important making right, in order to keep OKR functioning and when cloning.

      In like GParted, the windows_os partition is listed as last one on the disk, but should be no. 5 instead and Lenovo and PRV partition as no. 6 and 7 respectively, before the allocated space.
      So unfortunately I had to re-image the SSD again using Macrium Reflect to correct that.

      Now is OKR working as it should. So happy.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Dear MFDK,

        Actually, I found the Windows 8 build-in recover feature is very useful. Especially it may create recovery drive with factory images, save my time to learn OKR. :)

        Have a nice day!

        Best regards,

        Amigo

        Like

    • Based on the original author of this article, plus MFDK´s entry, I was finally able to close a month long struggle of non successful cloning from the original HDD 500GB in my Z710 to a SSD 256GB, using Acronis True Image 2014. Even though Acronis seemed to have done a good job (Windows 8.1 runs etc.), It actually didn´t, because OKR(8) did not want to do anytting, i.e. would start, but any action after that would fail with a stop sign. In fact after checking based on this article, I found that Acronis deletes critical information about the partitions (e.g. attributes, etc.) and mixed the order of partitions up, even though it did not seem to do that, judging from its interface. After reading about MFDK´s success using Macrium Reflect, I decided to look into that and since I had my original 500GB HDD still intact (not overwritten), I was able to make a clone to the SSD, this time with much more control over how to size the partitions down. Actually i only sized the C-partition down, kept the rest exactly the same. Macrium basically took care of that. The clone was ready aftre 2 hours (using USB2…). I installed the SSD an decided not to boot, but press he Lenovo button first to invoke the recover function of OKR and sure enough it wanted to run and no fault messages. Then I did not let it run, but exited, booted up the Z710 and tried to make a backup, which also functions properly, as a matter of fact, while writing this the Z710 reports: Backup complete.
      So MFDK´s tip to use Macrium Reflect Free Edition is GOLD! Thank you soooo much!
      Greetz from NL.

      Tip: do NOT use Acronis to clone, it breaks OKR. Use Macrium Reflect Free Edition instead (no, i do not have a stake in the company nor I am in any way liaised).

      Liked by 1 person

      • Dear LenovoZ710-user,

        Thank you for your sharing! Your post should help those who need to clone hard drive! :)

        Actually, disk dupe is quit simple before Windows Vista. I always use Ghost (from 4.0 to 2000) and never have an issue. Things becomes very complicated after that. Some issue won’t be visible until you run specific command in certain programs. :(

        Have a nice day!

        Best regards,

        Amigo

        Like

    • Dear MFDK,

      If your partition ID are okay, what’s your issue?

      My OKR is 4.0. It’s from CyberLink.

      Have a nice day!

      Best regards,

      Amigo

      Like

  7. Hi,

    Thanks for great informations. I’ve got Lenovo R61i and the following problem: I had problems with MBR in the past but managed to fix it, then I changed some partition settings (I don’t exactly remember what I did, but probably divided one partition into two partitions) and now my “Think vantage button” doesn’t react and I can’t recover my system because of that… So I’ve got a few questions:

    1) How can I check that my recovery partition is OK (isn’t damaged, deleted or something like that)?
    2) How can I check how my disk had looked like before I made any changes (partitions factory default settings – 1st table in your tuto).
    3) I’ve got Vista – do the same partition IDs apply to that OS (I listed my partitions, and the partiton which seems to be the RECOVERY partition is now labeled as OEM), so all I need to do is change that OEM’s partition ID to DE94BBA4-06D1-4D40-A16A-BFD50179D6AC?

    Thanks in advance for your comments :-).

    BR,
    Pio

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Pio,

      I have ThinkPad R60e, R61i (Vista), L412 (Win7), and T410i(Win7). ThinkVantage Rescue and Recovery is useful. I remember there is a small program to help you reactivate the blue ThinkVantage button. Check it at Re-enable ThinkVantage Button After Clean Install.

      If it doesn’t work, Rescue and Recovery® 4.23 by Lenovo has instruction and downloadable files.

      When you may boot into Rescue and Recovery, you will know if the recovery partition is okay.

      For questions 2, I don’t know. But you may use the recovery partition to restore to factory default. Then you have a base image to compare.

      Your last question, OEM partition ID is different from model to model, company to company. I have no proof to say they must be the same.

      I think you should try to restore to factory default first! :)

      Wish it helps!

      Best regards,

      Amigo

      Like

  8. Hi,
    I have Lenovo Y50 70. Below is the original partition setting :
    Partition 1 Recovery 1000MB
    Partition 2 System 260 MB
    Partition 3 OEM 1000 MB
    Partition 4 Reserved 128 MB
    Partition 5 Primary 889 GB
    Partition 6 Primary 25 GB
    Partition 7 Recovery 14 GB

    I usually split my hardrive into 3 partition (system, apps, and documents). I don’t use default (C:) folder to install all of my programs. I split OS, Apps, and my documents. When my windows got error or slow, I usually reinstall my windows without reinstalling all of my apps because I have separate shortcut on my apps. I don’t need to wipe out all of my important data also. Same things I did into my new Lenovo Y 50. So, I split the 889 GB drive into 3 part and it became like this :

    Partition 1 Recovery 1000MB
    Partition 2 System 260 MB
    Partition 3 OEM 1000 MB
    Partition 4 Reserved 128 MB
    Partition 5 Primary 48 GB
    Partition 6 Primary 195 GB
    Partition 7 Primary 645 GB
    Partition 8 Primary 25 GB
    Partition 9 Recovery 14 GB

    Of course the One Key Recovery is not working now. I still confuse, which partition should I set for the ID so that I can use the one key recovery tool. Please help me :p

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Thanks, thanks, and SO MANY THANKS again !!!!!

    As FetZzo says, I don’t use to comment at almost any web page either, independently if the info contained on it has ben or not useful to me.
    But this time… Amigo, THANKS!
    My Lenovo Z50-70 came with 1 TB HDD, with two partitions of the same size each, what seemed far from optimal for me. I resized the partitions wit EaseUs, and after some days I discovered that the OKR was no longer working.
    Folloowing your instructions, the OKR is working again. In my case, I had to modify the same partitions, and to the same type than FetZzo posted, 1 and 7 as recovery, and 3 as OEM.

    Thx again. =D

    Like

    • Hey Luis.. I am also using Z570.. and facing same issue.

      Please pls help me too to recover OKR so that i can use factory setting and fix my system again..

      Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Luis Miguel López,

      I am glad to here that!

      Thank you for sharing your success with us! Your commends about partition order should help others with Lennovo Z50-70!

      Have a nice day!

      Best regards,

      Amigo

      Like

  10. My Lenovo Z710 1TB came pre-installed with Windows 8.1.
    I wanted to resize C: from 900 GB to 240 GB
    and resize drive D: from 30 GB to 690 GB.

    I used AOMEI partition assistent 5.6 to make these partition changes.

    First I made a bootable recovery USB-stick.
    Then I made a bootable AOMEI CD.
    Also made a system-backup on external HDD with OKR.

    Used Minitool partition 9.0 to write down all original partition-ID’s.

    Booted my laptop with the AOMEI CD (takes a while)
    Then resized C: and made a partition F: with rest of the space.
    Started Windows 8.1, and merged F: with drive D:\LENOVO.
    Made sure that D: was the target drive to merge with.

    Checked all partition-ID’s with minitool partition wizard.
    All partition-ID’s were still the same.

    Started OneKey Recovery 8.
    Could perform a (saved) system-restore.
    Could perform an initial system-restore.
    All seem to work just as it should.

    [IMG]http://i62.tinypic.com/jpcz8x.jpg[/IMG]

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear John,

      Thanks for sharing. It seems there are more and more partition resize tools support Windows 8.x. :)

      Have a nice day!

      Best regards,

      Amigo

      Like

  11. Hello Amigo

    Thank you for the helpful solution. But I have another problem.
    first i made some partitions with EaseUS Partition and after that i made a recovery.
    I wanna test that the recovery data works fine, therefore i run the lenovo one key and recover the windows from the created recovery file.
    after recovery, I have seen that windows has been transfered into another partition which i made it.
    I can say I have two drivers with two windows data but the new partions is my system partition.
    I’m confused !!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear omid,

      It sounds you have two Windows now. Seems OKR didn’t overwrite your existing Windows partition and create a new partition instead.

      I suggest you to Create a USB recovery drive with [Copy the recovery partition from the PC to the recovery drive]. Then follow How to refresh, reset, or restore your PC to rest to factory default.

      Try to use your OKR again. If it is still the same, I suggest you to use other software for recovery instead. I personally preferred the recovery feature build-in windows 8.x.

      Wish you good luck!

      Best regards,

      Amigo

      Like

  12. Hello,

    I would like to have some information. I have 2 Lenovo computers A730 and A720. The A730 is alright, but the A720 came with a clean install of Windows 8.1.

    I would like to use the recovery DVDs from Lenovo A730 to install at the A720, but for some reason the DVDs don’t install, the computer doesn’t boot to finish the Windows 8.1 instalation.

    Anyone can give me some information?

    Best,
    Samuel

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear samuel,

      I like A720. It’s stylish!

      As I have replied before, different model has different configuration. In Windows 8.x, it writes activation mechanism in BIOS/UEFI. You may Google “windows 8 activation oem partition” for related information.

      Therefore, it’s not suggested to recovery A720 with recovery tools for A730.

      Have a nice day!

      Best regards,

      Amigo

      Like

  13. Thanks so much for your posts. I have a Y50-70. My goal was to transfer my 1TB HDD to SSD at 500GB. I tried Acronis True Image 2015, but the clone did not place the partitions in the right order. I can’t claim to fully understand everything discussed here, but I believe Acronis had problems with GPT or UEFI. Upon reading your post, I thought I would give USEase a try – and I didn’t realize that using USEase was the actual problem – but I thought it was the solution. On top of that, I resized with USEase because I wanted my OEM, and recovery partitions to be the same size after transferring to the SSD. In some way USEase was better than Acronis, but then I created my own problem as discussed here.

    Now I have everything working, but it doesn’t look right.

    (1) If anyone could tell me their “list partition” results for the Y50-70, I would appreciate it.
    (2) When I try to set my drive to OEM, list partitions shows it as “unknown” instead of OEM.
    (3) I have the “PBR_DRV” drive showing in explorer and not hidden. I don’t recall seeing it prior to this mess.

    I know it’s hard for people to not laugh at this mess I created for myself, but it you have some compassion, I would appreciate it.

    Lastly, you refer to the WinRE, but I haven’t used it before. I will do my research, but I was wondering if the Lenovo One Key Recovery and the WinRE are the same thing? Or, could you tell me if they are completely different? My understanding from what you wrote is that I can use the WinRE tool to recover the Lenovo image in PBR_DRV – is this correct?

    Thank you so much for your post and your time.

    Liked by 1 person

      • Dear IWishIBoughtAnAsus,

        Thanks for sharing this valuable information! :)

        Have a nice day!

        Best regards,

        Amigo

        Like

    • Dear WishIBoughtanAsus,

      Yes, Acronis True Image fails to clone Lenovo system disk which contains OKR. I haven’t see any successful story without issue yet.

      I think you mean EaseUs when you mention USEase. Yes, it did cause the problem to stop OKR function properly by modifying partition ID without permission. That’s why I suggest to use GParted.

      EaseUS does have both clone and partition tools but seems not compatible with OKR yet.

      About (1), roll up and there are some using Y50-70. Check if they are what you need.

      About (2), you may compare with OKRBackup/Factory/info.ini in PBR_DRV. It contains the factory default partition ID.

      About (3), because its partition ID has been changed by EaseUS Partition Master. How to refresh, reset, or restore your PC explains PBR_DRV in “What’s in PBR_DRV Partition” section.

      OKR is developer by CyberLink while WinRE is by Microsoft. They are very different. If you have Create a USB recovery drive with [Copy the recovery partition from the PC to the recovery drive], you may restore to factory default with WinRE instead of OKR.

      Wish it helps!

      Best regards,.

      Amigo

      Like

  14. Further information:

    I am on Windows 8.1. Some information from the Lenovo site…

    http://support.lenovo.com/us/en/documents/ht077144

    Here is my info for the Y50-70. Disk 0 is my original 1TB drive (AFTER using USEase Partition Master). CAUTION – these may not be correct due to USEase issue. Disk 1 is my new SSD.

    DISKPART> list disk

    Disk ### Status Size Free Dyn Gpt
    ——– ————- ——- ——- — —
    Disk 0 Online 931 GB 479 GB *
    Disk 1 Online 465 GB 0 B *

    DISKPART> select disk=0

    Disk 0 is now the selected disk.

    DISKPART> list partition

    Partition ### Type Size Offset
    ————- —————- ——- ——-
    Partition 1 OEM 1000 MB 1024 KB
    Partition 2 System 260 MB 1001 MB
    Partition 3 OEM 1000 MB 1261 MB
    Partition 4 Reserved 128 MB 2261 MB
    Partition 5 Primary 410 GB 2389 MB
    Partition 6 Primary 25 GB 412 GB
    Partition 7 Primary 14 GB 437 GB

    DISKPART> select disk=1

    Disk 1 is now the selected disk.

    DISKPART> list partition

    Partition ### Type Size Offset
    ————- —————- ——- ——-
    Partition 1 Primary 1000 MB 1024 KB
    Partition 2 System 260 MB 1001 MB
    Partition 3 Primary 1000 MB 1261 MB
    Partition 4 Reserved 128 MB 2261 MB
    Partition 5 Primary 423 GB 2389 MB
    Partition 6 Primary 25 GB 426 GB
    Partition 7 Primary 14 GB 451 GB

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear WishIBoughtanAsus,

      The link is for ThinkPad series. I don’t think it’s applicable to Lenovo Y50-70.

      Compare the list disk information to OKRBackup/Factory/info.ini in PBR_DRV will help you to know what has been modified by EaseUS Partition Master. In this post, I have mark the difference with red color.

      LIST VOLUME is also very helpful.

      Wish it helps!

      Best regards,

      Amigo

      Like

  15. Additional links:

    https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ff715563.aspx
    https://msdn.microsoft.com/library/aa365449.aspx
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GUID_Partition_Table

    I also noted that after using USEase, I received the following partition ID:
    de94bba4-06d1-4d40-a1a6-bfd50179d6ac

    As per the Microsoft Technet site, this ID should be…
    de94bba4-06d1-4d40-a16a-bfd50179d6ac

    Recovery/utility partition (UEFI/GPT): Set CreatePartition\Type to Primary, and then set ModifyPartition\TypeID to de94bba4-06d1-4d40-a16a-bfd50179d6ac.

    Let me now show BOTH:
    de94bba4-06d1-4d40-a1a6-bfd50179d6ac
    de94bba4-06d1-4d40-a16a-bfd50179d6ac

    NOTE that the “a6″ from USEase is transposed and should be “6a”.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear WishIBoughtanAsus,

      According to OKRBackup/Factory/info.ini in PBR_DRV, PBR_DRV and WINERE_DRV should be DE94BBA4-06D1-4D40-A16A-BFD50179D6AC. If you are right, EaseUS Partition Master change it from A16A into A1A6.

      Nice job!

      Best regards,

      Amigo

      Like

  16. Hi.. Pls pls help me.. I am facing almost similar issue.
    NTFS partition corrupted and now partition types are also not correct.
    I want to recover my system (not data) using one key recovery, please help me run this program of Lenovo.
    I have used above steps for listing partitions as below:
    DISKPART> LIST PARTITION

    Partition ### Type Size Offset
    ————- —————- ——- ——-
    Partition 1 Primary 200 MB 1024 KB
    Partition 2 Primary 61 GB 201 MB
    Partition 3 OEM 14 GB 683 GB
    Kindly let me know what should be type of these partitions and which commands should i use to do so.
    I am sorry but i am totally new to this kind of situation so need your help. I dont want to loose one key system so I cannot format my system.

    Thanks in advance!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am too much worried, forgot to mention the model number Z570..
      And i can boot from my external hard disk and ubuntu bootable pen drive to perform all kind of operations. Need help to perform correct operations in correct order..

      Liked by 1 person

      • Dear Sumit Gupta,

        Because your Z570 comes with windows 7 and MBR, I am not sure if it work with earlier OKR.

        You will need to check the OKRBackup/Factory/info.ini in PBR_DRV to know the partition ID for your drive. I suggest you to try Partition 3 and look for this file.

        Once you set the correct partition ID, you shall be able to launch OKR and restore to factory default.

        Wish it help!

        Best regards,

        Amigo

        Like

  17. Dear Amigo,

    I need help for the similar issue, please suggest me how can i get back my one key recovery so as to reinstall windows on laptop.
    I have Z570 and having windows 7. Below is the partition info of my laptop right now with around 500GBs of unallocated space (As I already took backup).
    Partition ### Type Size Offset
    ————- —————- ——- ——-
    Partition 1 Recovery 200 MB 1024 KB
    Partition 2 Primary 61 GB 201 MB
    Partition 3 OEM 14 GB 683 GB (Lenovo part)

    Kindly let me know which partition should be set what type…
    In the current state, when i press one key recovery key, it says no boot option found(something like this) grub rescue> mode..

    Thanks in advance!!!
    Waiting for your response…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Sumit Gupta,

      To create factory backup is detail explained in Create a USB recovery drive. Yes, don’t use OKR but Windows 8 build-in feature instead.

      If you may boot to Windows 8, try to follow the [Remove everything and reinstall Windows] in How to refresh, reset, or restore your PC. You need to have a Windows RE Flash Drive and have access to PBR_DRV partition, too.

      Reset your Lenovo Computer with Windows 8 provides more information about reset to factory default.

      Wish it helps!

      Best regards,

      Amigo

      Like

    • Dear Sumit Gupta,

      I think partition 3 is very suspicious based on the size and the partition type of your information.

      Write down its partition ID and change it to DE94BBA4-06D1-4D40-A16A-BFD50179D6AC. Try if OKR may access. If still fail, update to its original partition ID.

      Wish it helps!

      Best regards,

      Amigo

      Like

  18. Hola Amigo
    I have the problem but my LENOVO is K410
    Are the partition IDs same for all computer models?
    How do I know what WINDOWS I had? I don’t know if t is 8 or 8.1

    Muchas Gracias

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear ehoodb,

      No, I have no proof to say all partition ID are the same in different models. That’s why you need to follow Reset your Lenovo Computer with Windows 8 to compare with your OKRBackup/Factory/info.ini file.

      About how to tell your windows version, Google shall help!

      If your Lenovo K410 comes with Windows 8.0 but you have upgrade to windows 8.1, factory recovery will restore to Windows 8.0.

      Wish it helps!

      Best regards,

      Amigo

      Like

  19. Hola Amigo i muchas gracias

    I decided to take a risk –
    I installed the WIN 8.1 LENOVO drive as secondary on a WIN 7 system..

    I then ran your SCRIPT you provided and that did recover the partitions….

    SELECT DISK=1 <<==== I had to select drive 1, of course

    SELECT PARTITION=1
    SET ID=DE94BBA4-06D1-4D40-A16A-BFD50179D6AC
    SELECT PARTITION=3
    SET ID=BFBFAFE7-A34F-448A-9A5B-6213EB736C22
    SELECT PARTITION=6
    SET ID=DE94BBA4-06D1-4D40-A16A-BFD50179D6AC
    SELECT PARTITION=8
    SET ID=DE94BBA4-06D1-4D40-A16A-BFD50179D6AC
    EXIT

    The strange thing is that when I looked at the details of the partitions – they were ALL correct but the types were wrong… However, when I tried changing them manually, one by one, they did not work..

    As stated, the SCRIPT did work !
    Thanks a lot

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear ehoodb,

      It’s good to have your feedback!

      Although I have no ideas why script work but command fails, it’s still good to hear that you have successfully get back your partitions!

      Create a windows 8 recovery flash drive with factory default disk images as mentioned in
      Create a USB recovery drive will save your time in the future! :)

      Have a nice day!

      Best regards,

      Amigo

      Like

  20. Hello! I ran into a big problem when dual booting on Lenovo.
    I have a Lenovo g50-45 with onekey recovery with Windows 8.1 pre-installed. I dual booted with Ubuntu. Then I uninstalled Ubuntu. then tried to reinstall with USB using onekey.

    I got this screen:

    GNU GRUB ver2.02 …..ect.
    Minimal BASH-like line editing is supported. For the first word, …..ect.
    grub>

    So, I did “ls” and got the following:

    grub> ls
    (hd0) (hd0,gpt7) (hd0,gpt6) (hd0,gpt5) (hd0,gpt4) (hd0,gpt3) (hd0,gpt2) (hd0,gpt1)

    All the others returned “Filesystem is unknown”

    Only
    grub> ls (hd0,3)
    grub> ls (hd0,2)
    returned “Filesystem is fat”

    So, I looked at the files in these two partitions

    grub> ls (hd0,2)/
    returned:
    efi/ boot/

    Then I looked at other partition:

    grub> ls (hd0,3)/
    It returned:
    bootmgr bootmgr.efi Version.txt Boot/ efi/ OneKey/ System Volume Information/

    So obviously, the (hd0,3) partition is the Lenovo partition. and (hd0,2) is most probably windows.

    My question is:

    What steps do I take from here to get back into normal booting?

    How do I get back to booting into Windows?

    After that How do I go about installing Ubuntu? (by usb through onekey)

    Any help is appreciated!

    I am freaking out right now! THANKS!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Ayesha Ahmed,

      Dual boot is another story and becomes much more complex in Windows 8.

      My steps to run dual boot again is by first reseting to factory default then installing Ubuntu again. I don’t know how to manually configure boot loader for dual boot yet.

      You will need a Windows 8.x boot drive to reset Lenovo g50-45 as explained in How to refresh, reset, or restore your PC.

      You also need access to PBR_DRV partition, too. Reset your Lenovo Computer with Windows 8 provides more information about reset to factory default.

      Wish it helps!

      Best regards,

      Amigo

      Like

  21. Dear Amigo,
    I am once again here to seek your help. First time, I wrote you on 6-11-2014 and with the help of you I recovered my system(LENOVO Z580) to its factory state. Then I downloaded and install Windows 8.1 update from Store. Everything seemed to work in a fine condition until one day(10 days ago), I tried to make another 5th partition for installing Ubuntu. Though I didn’t download and install Ubuntu but somehow I deleted some files and then deleted some partitions with EaseUS with a thought that everything would be set right as before. But I am sorry to see now that I have made a mess of my system. I tried to set the partitions but failed. My OKR files are now gone. Please help.
    Regards,
    Bob.

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Hi Amigo,
    I am encloseing here some snaps of cmd; easeus and disk management for your consideration.
    file:///C:/Users/BM-24.02.2015/Pictures/Capture1.gif
    file:///C:/Users/BM-24.02.2015/Pictures/Screenshots/Screenshot%20(3).png
    file:///C:/Users/BM-24.02.2015/Pictures/Screenshots/Screenshot%20(4).png

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Dear Amigo,
    I am very sorry for my last post as I failed to upload the snaps because I was not able to use the correct procedure here due to my lack of knowledge.
    Regards,
    Bob

    Liked by 1 person

  24. I am running on Yoga 3 Pro. After repartition using EASEUS Partition, the OKR not working. I followed the step provided but i only have 7 partitions instead of 8. This is what i have changed:
    Partition ### Type Size Offset
    ————- —————- ——- ——-
    Partition 1 Recovery 1000 MB 1024 KB
    Partition 2 System 260 MB 1001 MB
    Partition 3 OEM 1000 MB 1261 MB
    Partition 4 Reserved 128 MB 2261 MB
    Partition 5 Primary 100 GB 2389 MB
    Partition 6 Primary 361 GB 102 GB
    Partition 7 Recovery 13 GB 463 GB

    The above have been changed for Partition 1 and 7.

    After i press on the OKR and choose system recovery, it boot and restart. After a while it brought me back to windows. Even i tried to press OKR after shutdown. With the option to run system recovery, it also brought me into windows.

    How should i do to tackle this?

    Million Thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

  25. Dear Amigo, Thanks for your reply. Firstly, I would like to tell you that I already have the required USB Recovery Drive in which I had already copied the recovery partition( its size is 9.7GB.) from my PC to the USB with the help of the Create-a-recovery-drive tool available in Windows 8. I did it before upgrading to Windows 8.1. Then one day I divided my F drive into two drives. Probably, there was nothing wrong in it. But, then I ran Diskpart in CMD and there I found 2 more Recovery partitions of 450MB and 451MB sizes which were not there earlier. And considering the 2 partitions undesirable I formatted both and added the unallocated partitions to C drive. And then, it all happened that left the PC in an unbootable state. Then I successfully used my USB Recovery drive to format C drive and restore to the factory state. Then, I tried EaseUS many times to resize my different partitions to recover both the deleted(450MB &451MB) partitions but all this resized even the Winre, LRS_ESP(OEM) and 349MB recovery partition( Partition 5 in Diskpart) and deleted the 128MB Reserved Partition. Now, I am unable to use the Novo Button to run the OneKey Recovery. Here are some screenshots for your consideration:
    [IMG]http://i60.tinypic.com/1113u47.jpg[/IMG]
    [IMG]http://i57.tinypic.com/154j9ue.jpg[/IMG]
    [IMG]http://i57.tinypic.com/t7n7d1.jpg[/IMG]
    [IMG]http://i57.tinypic.com/2uhwp5x.jpg[/IMG]
    [IMG]http://i60.tinypic.com/mikl5z.jpg[/IMG]
    [IMG]http://i60.tinypic.com/mikl5z.jpg[/IMG]
    [IMG]http://i60.tinypic.com/2mqohlx.jpg[/IMG]
    Now, could you please answer me the following questions?
    1.Can I repair the Winre(Partition 1), if yes then How and Which files must be there in it for a successful recovery?
    2.Can I rebuild the 128MB Reserved Partition, if yes then How?
    3.Can I use the hidden files on Winre Partition and LRS_ESP Partition to recreate these partitions, if yes then How?
    4.And from where are the files copied to the USB Recovery Drive by the system? Are they copied from the hidden PBR_DRV or from some other drives?

    Regards,
    Bob

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Bob,

      It’s good to know you have the Factory Recovery USB drive. If you tick [Copy the recovery partition from the PC to the recovery drive] while [create a recovery drive], it will copy all factory disk images in PBR_DRV to USB drive, too. At least you may roll back to factory default.

      I have upgrade C440 to Windows 8.1 already but I never see the 2 more recovery partitions. I guess maybe it’s EaseUS who overwrite the partition type ID. Maybe they are not Recovery partition type. Just reset with your USB flash, you OKR should come back. About Novo button, I think it is because he cannot find OKR partition and refused to work.

      I think you should use GParted instead of EaseUS to resize partitions.

      Here I answer your questions as below:

      1. For normal partition resize operation, contents won’t be touch. But EaseUS overwrite partition type id which make it unusable by certain programs. You need to change its partition type ID to {DE94BBA4-06D1-4D40-A16A-BFD50179D6AC}.

      After that, you may use GParted to check contents in WINRE_DRV.

      But I suggest you to focus on PBR_DRV first, it save your time. Why? Because if you may access PBR_DRV, you may use your Windows Recover USB Drive to reset your Windows. Please check it at Reset your Lenovo Computer with Windows 8.

      2. Yes, it is possible. You may enable/disable and even create your own WinRE Partition. It is explained in “Enable Windows Recovery Environment” section in this post.

      3. No, I don’t think so. As explained in 1, I suggest you first make sure PBR_DRV is readable. Boot with your Windows RE Flash drive. Then do a Windows reset. It is explained in Reset your Lenovo Computer with Windows 8.

      4. Yes, all factory disk images are stored in PBR_DRV. You may tick [Copy the recovery partition from the PC to the recovery drive] while [create a recovery drive], it will copy all factory disk images in PBR_DRV to USB drive, too. I strongly recommend everybody keep another factory disk images in Flash drive for safe.

      Wish it helps!

      Best regards,

      Amigo

      Like

    • Dear Bob,

      Thanks for including all these information. They are very helpful!

      I notice your PBR_DRV (19GB) is still available with correct parititon type id though seems smaller than mine (24GB). If I were you, I will try Reset your Lenovo Computer with Windows 8.

      No need to change partition type id one by one. Reset Windows 8 is more straight forward if you have Windows RE USB drive and PBR_DRV is accessible.

      Wish it helps!

      Best regards,

      Amigo

      Like

  26. Dear Amigo, I still have some problem in posting the images in required sizes.

    On computer: IDEA-PC

    DISKPART> list disk

    Disk ### Status Size Free Dyn Gpt
    ——– ————- ——- ——- — —
    Disk 0 Online 465 GB 0 B *

    DISKPART> select dis0

    Microsoft DiskPart version 6.2.9200

    DISK – Shift the focus to a disk. For example, SELECT DISK.
    PARTITION – Shift the focus to a partition. For example, SELECT PARTITION.
    VOLUME – Shift the focus to a volume. For example, SELECT VOLUME.
    VDISK – Shift the focus to a virtual disk. For example, SELECT VDISK.

    DISKPART> select disk=0

    Disk 0 is now the selected disk.

    DISKPART> list part

    Partition ### Type Size Offset
    ————- —————- ——- ——-
    Partition 1 Recovery 1001 MB 20 KB
    Partition 2 System 260 MB 1002 MB
    Partition 3 Unknown 1001 MB 1262 MB
    Partition 4 Primary 78 GB 2263 MB
    Partition 5 Recovery 348 MB 80 GB
    Partition 6 Primary 173 GB 80 GB
    Partition 7 Primary 166 GB 254 GB
    Partition 8 Primary 25 GB 420 GB
    Partition 9 Recovery 19 GB 445 GB

    DISKPART> list vol

    Volume ### Ltr Label Fs Type Size Status Info
    ———- — ———– —– ———- ——- ——— ——–
    Volume 0 E GParted-liv UDF DVD-ROM 223 MB Healthy
    Volume 1 C LENOVO NTFS Partition 78 GB Healthy Boot
    Volume 2 D LENOVO NTFS Partition 173 GB Healthy
    Volume 3 F LENOVO NTFS Partition 166 GB Healthy
    Volume 4 G LENOVO NTFS Partition 25 GB Healthy
    Volume 5 WINRE_DRV NTFS Partition 1001 MB Healthy Hidden
    Volume 6 SYSTEM_DRV FAT32 Partition 260 MB Healthy System
    Volume 7 NTFS Partition 348 MB Healthy Hidden
    Volume 8 PBR_DRV NTFS Partition 19 GB Healthy Hidden

    DISKPART> select part=3

    Partition 3 is now the selected partition.

    DISKPART> set id=BFBFAFE7-A34F-448A-9A5B-6213EB736C22

    DiskPart successfully set the partition ID
    —————————————————————————————————————————————–.DISKPART> list part

    Partition ### Type Size Offset
    ————- —————- ——- ——-
    Partition 1 Recovery 1001 MB 20 KB
    Partition 2 System 260 MB 1002 MB
    Partition 3 Unknown 1001 MB 1262 MB
    Partition 4 Primary 78 GB 2263 MB
    Partition 5 Recovery 348 MB 80 GB
    Partition 6 Primary 173 GB 80 GB
    Partition 7 Primary 166 GB 254 GB
    Partition 8 Primary 25 GB 420 GB
    Partition 9 Recovery 19 GB 445 GB

    DISKPART> select part=1

    Partition 1 is now the selected partition.

    DISKPART> detail part

    Partition 1
    Type : de94bba4-06d1-4d40-a16a-bfd50179d6ac
    Hidden : Yes
    Required: No
    Attrib : 0X4000000000000000
    Offset in Bytes: 20480

    Volume ### Ltr Label Fs Type Size Status Info
    ———- — ———– —– ———- ——- ——— ——–
    * Volume 5 WINRE_DRV NTFS Partition 1001 MB Healthy Hidden

    DISKPART> select part=3

    Partition 3 is now the selected partition.

    DISKPART> detail part

    Partition 3
    Type : bfbfafe7-a34f-448a-9a5b-6213eb736c22
    Hidden : Yes
    Required: No
    Attrib : 0X8000000000000000
    Offset in Bytes: 1323302912

    There is no volume associated with this partition.
    —————————————————————————————————————————————–

    DISKPART> detail part

    Partition 5
    Type : de94bba4-06d1-4d40-a16a-bfd50179d6ac
    Hidden : Yes
    Required: No
    Attrib : 0X8000000000000000
    Offset in Bytes: 86507520000

    Volume ### Ltr Label Fs Type Size Status Info
    ———- — ———– —– ———- ——- ——— ——–
    * Volume 7 NTFS Partition 348 MB Healthy Hidden

    DISKPART> select part=9

    Partition 9 is now the selected partition.

    DISKPART> detail part

    Partition 9
    Type : de94bba4-06d1-4d40-a16a-bfd50179d6ac
    Hidden : Yes
    Required: Yes
    Attrib : 0X8000000000000001
    Offset in Bytes: 478633000960

    Volume ### Ltr Label Fs Type Size Status Info
    ———- — ———– —– ———- ——- ——— ——–
    * Volume 8 PBR_DRV NTFS Partition 19 GB Healthy Hidden

    DISKPART> exit

    Leaving DiskPart…

    C:\Windows\system32>reagentc /info
    Windows Recovery Environment (Windows RE) and system reset configuration
    information:

    Windows RE status: Enabled
    Windows RE location:
    Boot Configuration Data (BCD) identifier: 00000000-0000-0000-0000-0000000000
    00
    Recovery image location:
    Recovery image index: 1
    Custom image location:
    Custom image index: 0

    REAGENTC.EXE: Operation Successful.

    C:\Windows\system32>reagentc /disable
    REAGENTC.EXE: Operation failed: 2

    REAGENTC.EXE: An error has occurred.

    C:\Windows\system32>reagentc /enable
    REAGENTC.EXE: Operation failed: 57

    REAGENTC.EXE: An error has occurred.

    So all this is about the different parts.

    Regards,
    Bob

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Bob,

      It’s okay. I may click on these small pictures to see the full size image. :)

      Have a nice day!

      Best regards,

      Amigo

      Like

  27. Dear Amigo,

    Once again, I want to tell you that when you compare the results of the DISKPART shown in my abovementioned post with those of shown in my post dated: 2014/11/9, you will find a lot of errors in the recent structure of the partitions and other data. So, please provide me a solution to all these problems.

    Thanks & Regards,
    Bob

    PS: I apologize for the mistakes I have made in my recent posts.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Bob,

      Just try to Reset Windows! I think your Windows RE USB drive and PBR_DRV may help!

      Have a nice day!

      Best regards,

      Amigo

      Like

      • Dear Amigo,

        Heartly thanks for your replies and the hard work you do for helping the likes of me.Though, I am soory to say that duing these 15 days I tried many other
        ways to reset my system but all in vain and finally I unknowingly formatted even my PBR partition on the system. Then I found a tutorial to clean my HDD and
        repartition it by putting “CreatePartitions” text file in my USB Recovery Drive and then after rebooting my system with it and then using the command
        “diskpart /s F:\CreatePartitions.txt”,where F: is the drive letter for the USB Recovery Drive. The text file used to create partitions was as follows:

        rem == CreatePartitions.txt ==
        rem == These commands are used with DiskPart to
        rem create eight partitions
        rem for a UEFI/GPT-based PC.
        rem == Usage: diskpart /s ScriptFileName
        rem == Example: diskpart /s D:\CreatePartitions.txt
        rem ================================================
        select disk 0
        clean
        convert gpt
        rem == 1. Windows RE tools partition ===============
        create partition primary size=1000
        format quick fs=ntfs label=”WINRE_DRV”
        assign letter=”T”
        set id=”de94bba4-06d1-4d40-a16a-bfd50179d6ac”
        gpt attributes=0x8000000000000001
        rem == 2. System partition =========================
        create partition efi size=260
        format quick fs=fat32 label=”SYSTEM_DRV”
        assign letter=”S”
        rem == 3. OEM partition ======================
        create partition primary size=1000
        format quick fs=fat32 label=”LRS_ESP”
        assign letter=”Q”
        set id=”bfbfafe7-a34f-448a-9a5b-6213eb736c22″
        gpt attributes=0x8000000000000001
        rem == 4. Microsoft Reserved (MSR) partition =======
        create partition msr size=128
        gpt attributes=0x8000000000000000
        rem == 5. Windows partition ========================
        create partition primary size=102400
        format quick fs=ntfs label=”Windows8_OS”
        assign letter=”W”
        rem == 6. Lenovo partition =========================
        create partition primary size=153600
        format quick fs=ntfs label=”LENOVO”
        assign letter=”L”
        rem == 7. Lenovo extra partition =========================
        rem == a. Create Lenovo partition ===============
        create partition primary
        rem == b. Create space for the recovery image ===
        shrink minimum=20480
        rem == c. Prepare Lenovo partition ==============
        format quick fs=ntfs label=”LENOVO”
        assign letter=”M”
        rem == 8. Recovery image partition =================
        create partition primary
        format quick fs=ntfs label=”PBR_DRV”
        assign letter=”R”
        set id=”de94bba4-06d1-4d40-a16a-bfd50179d6ac”
        gpt attributes=0x8000000000000001
        rem ================================================
        list volume
        exit2.

        Then I used an “ApplyImage.bat” file by just puttint it into the same USB Recovery Drive and using the command: “F:\ApplyImage F:\sources\*.swm”. The ApplyImage
        script file was as follows:

        @echo off
        rem == ApplyImage.bat ==
        rem == These commands copy the selected image file to
        rem predefined hard disk partitions on a UEFI-based computer.

        rem == Usage: ApplyImage.bat WimFileName
        rem == Example: D:\ApplyImage D:\sources\*.swm
        rem == Example: D:\ApplyImage D:\sources\install.wim

        rem == Copy the image to the recovery image partition =======================
        md R:\RecoveryImage
        xcopy %1 R:\RecoveryImage\

        rem == Apply the image to the Windows partition =============================
        rem == OPTION 1. The split image files: Install.swm, Install2.swm, Install3.swm, etc.
        dism /Apply-Image /ImageFile:R:\RecoveryImage\install.swm /SWMFile:R:\RecoveryImage\install*.swm /Index:1 /ApplyDir:W:\
        rem == OPTION 2. The install.wim image file.
        rem == dism /Apply-Image /ImageFile:R:\RecoveryImage\install.wim /Index:1 /ApplyDir:W:\

        rem == Copy the Windows RE Tools to the Windows RE Tools partition ==========
        md T:\Recovery\WindowsRE
        xcopy /h W:\Windows\System32\Recovery\Winre.wim T:\Recovery\WindowsRE\

        rem == Copy boot files from the Windows partition to the System partition ===
        bcdboot W:\Windows

        rem == Register the location of the recovery tools ==========================
        W:\Windows\System32\reagentc /setreimage /path T:\Recovery\WindowsRE /target W:\Windows

        rem == Register the location of the push-button reset recovery image ========
        W:\Windows\System32\reagentc /setosimage /path R:\RecoveryImage /target W:\Windows /index 1> OPTION TWO Properties>Tools>Optimize>Optimize Drives).
        2.When I run CMD (Adm.) within the Windows 8, I see every thing OK except that there is no LRS_DRV shown in LIST VOL in diskpart and OEM partition (no.3)
        displays the message: “There is no volume associated with this partition.”
        3.But when I run Command Prompt using my USB Recovery Drive, the LRS_ESP is dislayed in LIST VOL in diskpart and Volume 8 is shown associted with the OEM
        partition (no.3) with correct ID and correct ATTRIBUTES.
        4.In Boot Menu window, there is now only one “Windows Boot Manager” option while there were 3 “Windows Boot Manager” options when the system was in factory
        state.
        5.I am still not able to use OKR to reset my system and nor am I able to use “Automatic Repair” option.

        So, please help me to sort out all these problems.

        Regards,
        Bob

        Like

  28. Thanks a ton man. Regards from India. Easeus had only changed my recovery partitions. Recovery partition ID should contain A16A. Check each partitions ID n tally with the list given in the article. worked like a charm with my flex 2.

    Liked by 1 person

  29. Dude, i followed your instruction. I have succesfully changed the types (such as OEM to RECOVERY), but the problem the type is still read as (OEM), allthough the code of type is RECOVERYs.
    Do you have any idea?

    Like

Leave a Reply

