Refresh Slow Nexus 7 by Wiping Cache Partition


My Nexus 7 is getting slower after running for 10 months. At first, I thought it is related to too many running apps. But there are plenty of available RAM in [Settings]→[Apps]→[Running], I don’t think it’s time to get a new tablet with more RAM. Limited storage? I still have more than 3GB free in [Settings]→[Apps]→[Download].

If it’s not related to RAM and internal storage, what’s up?

Cache Partition

Why is My Nexus 7 So Slow? 8 Ways to Speed it Up Again on How-To Geek provides a good list of possible reasons. I guess it is related to my cache partition. Although I have upgrade to Android 4.4.4 which has solved TRIM issue exist before Android 4.1.2 on Nexus 7, it won’t help you to TRIM existing partition automatically. You will need to root and run LagFix manually. Or you may wipe cache partition with build-in tools.

I follow the instruction in Fix Nexus 7 lag in 7 easy steps by Rob SChmuecker and Reset your Nexus device to factory settings to wipe my cache partition. I do feel it becomes more responsive but also lost all the offline books in Zinio and offline Google Maps.

Wipe Instructions

Here is how I wipe my cache partition:

  1. Turn off Nexus 7.
  2. Hold volume down button and press power to turn on.
  3. It display a boot menu in less than 5 seconds.
  4. Use volume button to choose Recovery Mode. Press power button to launch.
  5. Hold power button then press volume up to display menu.
  6. Choose wipe cache partition and press power button to execute.

 

Reference

  1. Google: Reset your Nexus device to factory settings
  2. Google Play: LagFix (fstrim) Free
  3. Google Play: Maps
  4. Google Play: Zinio: 5000+ Digital Magazines
  5. How-To Geek: Why is My Nexus 7 So Slow? 8 Ways to Speed it Up Again
  6. Rob Schmuecker: Fix Nexus 7 lag in 7 easy steps
  7. StackExchange: Android Enthusiasts: What is the /cache partition?
  8. Wiki: Google Nexus: Nexus 7
  9. Wiki: TRIM (computing)

Leave a Reply

