Connect to a Wireless Router from Another Router

I have two computers and a QNAP TS-119PII on my table while my wife has a Lenovo C540 and a TP-Link TL-WR842ND running DD-WRT as our Internet router on another table. They all need to be connected to internet but I don’t want any wire between our tables. I also need a Gigabit Ethernet hub, the build-in Fast Ethernet on TL-WR842ND is too slow.

Gigabit Ethernet Wireless Router

I invest a North Link R405G-B which is a small and portable wireless Gigabit router. The 4 Gigabit Ethernet is more than enough to me. I expect it to speed up file transfer among computer and TS-119PII on my table.


TL-WR842ND is still our Internet router and provides wireless connection to others. I need to setup R405G-B as an wireless access point connecting to TL-WR842ND via 802.11n. Therefore, computers on my table may get IP address from TL-WR842ND and access Internet. Because my wife’s C540 is in the same network segment, she may access TS-119PII, too.

Here is how I configure R405G-B.

  1. Switch to access point mode. DHCP service will be disabled automatically.
  2. Connect with wire and setup a static IP address with the same network segment on your computer.
  3. Login to web administration on R405G-B.
  4. Choose Client to replace AP in wireless mode. Select Infrastructure as network type.
  5. Search and connect to Internet router. Here I connect to TL-WR842ND.

Now, change the network setting  from using a static IP address to DHCP on my computer and it’s ready to access internet.


If I need to login to web administration on R405G-B again, I have to check its IP address from TL-WR842ND. It got a new IP address to replace default.


  1. DD-WRT for my TP-Link TL-WR842ND
  2. Lenovo C540
  3. QNAP TS-119PII File Transfer Performance Report
  4. Wiki: Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol
  5. Wiki: Fast Ethernet
  6. Wiki: Gigabit Ethernet
  7. Wiki: IEEE 802.11n-2009
  8. Wiki: IP address
  9. Wiki: Network segment
  10. Wiki: Wireless access point
  11. 電腦王:拆開迷你 Gigabit 級無線 AP,North Link R405G-B 裡面有什麼

Leave a Reply

