Contents in Secure External HDD is Encrypted

Buffalo HD-LX2TU3 is my first secured external HDD box. Because I am not comfortable with the high operation temperature and the small power adapter, I decide to open the case, move the hard drive to QNAP TS-112, and use the SATA to USB 3.0 bridge as a quick connector.

I use the bridge to clone the hard drive in my Lenovo C440 AIO to a new SSHD. When I swap them, it never boot up.

Secure Contents

I missed the point: Buffalo HD-LX2TU3 is a secure external hdd. All data saved to the hard drive is secured. Without the SATA to USB 3.0 bridge to decrypt, you cannot access the content.

It explains why ClonZilla may clone without any warning message. But once swapped, the hard drive is connected through SATA directly, Lenovo C440 won’t be able to decrypt. It may only show Error 1962 – No operating system detected.

Good and Bad

I have never enable the encryption feature. Maybe it is turn-on by default or always encrypt.

The good thing is when you lost the internal hard drive, people cannot read the content without the right bridge. But if it is not a one-to-one secure solution, people may use another Buffalo HD-LX2TU3 to read.

The bad thing is if the bridge is damaged, you have to say good-bye to your content even the hard drive is still in good condition.

Final Word

It is too risky for me to use the SATA to USB 3.0 bridge as a quick connector for my hard drive. I preferred to disabled the encryption or get a normal bridge without encryption.

If I really need to encrypt with high speed, I preferred hardware assist solution which is controlled by software. And leave the key independent from firmware.


  1. Buffalo HD-LX2TU3
  2. Match Hard Disk Startup Current with Power Adapter Output Current
  3. QNAP TS-112
  4. ClonZilla

Leave a Reply

