svhost.exe in Windows XP keep on running 99% of CPU Usage


After a fresh install of Windows XP on my VirtualBox, I notice some program keep on using CPU while I am installing other programs. Windows Task Manager identify it is svhost.exe who  use 99% of CPU time.

Who Has Launched svhost.exe

But even kill the process, it keep on launch again and again. I also worry if it is launched by my anti-virus or setup program, kill the process will make the system unstable. Therefore, I download Process Explorer and see who is the problem maker.

A sample of running process views by Problem Explorer.
A sample of running process views by Problem Explorer.

It is Windows Update! Because I have choose to download patch automatically, this program will run in the background and check for me. That’s why no mater how many times I kill svhost.exe, Windows Update will launch it again and again.

You may disable the auto-download or leave it until it finish. I decide to disable and manually check myself. But CPU usage still jump to 100% when I click on Windows Update, there must be something wrong.

The Solution

Leo explain what happen and provide a solution in his How do I fix this high CPU usage svchost virus or whatever it is?

You may follow the instruction in You receive an access violation error and the system may appear to become unresponsive when you try to install an update from Windows Update or from Microsoft Update and download the patch.

I also found after Upgrading to Internet Explorer 8, it is fixed. The CPU usage is normal even after I manually update with Internet Explorer in Windows XP.

Reference

  1. Microsoft: Process Explorer v15.40
  2. ask-leo.com: How do I fix this high CPU usage svchost virus or whatever it is?
  3. Microsoft: You receive an access violation error and the system may appear to become unresponsive when you try to install an update from Windows Update or from Microsoft Update
  4. Microsoft: Download Internet Explorer 8

Leave a Reply

